Board Members

The idea for Heartwood Montessori School began in 2013 when neighbors and Montessori parents, Sarah and Sinead, were longing for a quality Montessori program in Northeast Minneapolis.  They knew of many parents (including themselves) who were driving their children out of our neighborhood to find high quality Montessori environments, and that did not feel right.  Since that first idea, Sarah and Sinead took the time to thoughtfully plan out all the information they would need to start a non-profit school.

In February of 2014, Sarah and Sinead held their first informational meeting about creating a board for this new Northeast Montessori school.  The founding board of Heartwood was formed by a group of passionate parents and community members.  Together they logged over 3,000 hours of volunteer hours and raised over $21,000 to launch the school in September of 2015.

Our governing board is now composed of hard-working, dedicated parents, community members and Montessori professionals who continue to guide the school towards the mission and vision set forth by the founding board members. We are currently seeking board members from the community. Email to learn more.

Corinne Ivanca President
Corinne Ivanca is the current board president. Her daughter attended Heartwood from 30 months through kindergarten year. Corinne is an attorney practicing in St. Paul and lives with her family in Northeast Minneapolis.

Michelle Gerrity Treasurer

Stephanie Malone  Secretary
Stephanie joined the Heartwood board as Treasurer in 2017 and has recently transitioned to Secretary. She enjoys cooking, crafting, video games, and going to new grocery stores.

Julia Kallmes  Past President
Julia earned an Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) Certificate from the Montessori Center of Minnesota in 2014. Since then, she has worked as a guide in a Children’s House at Nokomis Montessori Magnet School in St. Paul. She feels strongly that more children and families should have access to a Montessori education. Interests include running around lakes, traveling, and spending time with her friends and family.

AJ Niehaus
AJ lives in the Waite Park neighborhood of Northeast Minneapolis with her husband, Dan, and their two children, Zoe and Penelope. Zoe, a former student, is now attending Great River School. Penelope is a current student and loving it.  AJ was drawn to a Montessori education for her children because of the freedom, creativity, independence, and ability to work at one’s level that the Montessori philosophy fosters. AJ owns SANscript, an automated publishing company, with her mother. She holds a BS and MFA in performance and technology, where her thesis was in wearable computing and smart fabrics. When not running after her small children or working, she loves to knit, read, and create. AJ was drawn to joining the Heartwood board because she believes Northeast needs a stellar Montessori option that is open to any child. During her tenure she held the offices of President and Past President.

Caitlin Hargarten
Caitlin is an arts event instigator + organizer, graphic designer and maker of animations with her partner Sam under the moniker Squawk. She and Sam have two children in the Heartwood community and live in Northeast Minneapolis. 

Amy Tweet
Amy joined the board in May of 2019. She previously worked as the Assistant Guide at Heartwood from 2017-2019. She loves the community and wanted to stay connected as transitioning to a new career. She enjoys biking, yoga, camping and identifying trees.

Kristi Curme

A huge “THANK YOU” to our founding board members! Everything you see in the classroom and school community has been a product of this initial investment of time and talent.  They took a dream to a reality!

Sarah Walker
Sinead Carolan
Sareen Dunleavy Keenan
Jonathan Turner Bargen
Crystal Chance
Jess Jellings
Heather Vinge Hanson
Liz Anderson